Welcome to the Graduate Program in Immunology Homepage


The University of Michigan has been involved in Immunology-related research since the 1880s, but it wasn't until 1993, that a group of faculty from both basic science and clinical departments successfully obtained funding from the National Institutes of Health for an institutional T32 training grant to support students and post-doctoral fellows doing "Experimental Immunology."  This T32 grant, which is still active today, was the basis for the formation of the Immunology Graduate Program founded in 1999.


The Immunology Graduate Program is an inter-departmental program comprised of faculty, students and post-doctoral fellows from many different departments within the University of Michigan Medical School, the School of Public Health, the Dental School and the Veterans Affairs Ann Arbor Health System.  We are a doctoral degree-granting program housed within the Horace Rackham graduate school. Admission to the Immunology Graduate Program occurs through the umbrella Program in Biomedical Sciences (PIBS).  


Immunology program members are involved in a broad range of basic and translational research topics.  We have laboratories conducting basic studies in antigen processing and presentation, T, B and NK cell signaling and activation as well as innate immune cell functions.  In addition, we have laboratories working on a variety of immune aspects related to autoimmunity, cancer, obesity, aging, transplantation and infectious diseases.  It is a good time to be an Immunologist at U of M as our president, Dr. Mark Schlissel is an Immunologist too!


We hope you will find the information you are looking for within this website.  However, if you have any questions at all, please do not hesitate to contact the  program administrator, Ms. Zarinah Aquil.


You can also follow us on Twitter!  @UMichImmunology


The current co-Directors for the Graduate Program in Immunology are Drs. Gary Huffnagle and Malini Raghavan.  Dr. Durga Singer is the Associate Director.

Gary Huffnagle, PhD,

Nina and Jerry D Luptak Professor of Food Allergy Professor, Molecular, Cellular & Developmental Biology (MCDB)Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies, MCDB Professor, Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine Research Professor, Mary H Weiser Food Allergy Center Professor, Microbiology & Immunology




Malini Raghavan, PhD

Professor of Microbiology and Immunology




Associate Director

Durga Singer, MD

Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Division of Pediatric Endocrinology

Edith Briskin/SKS Fundation Taubman Emerging Scholar





Program Administrator: 

Zarinah Aquil, M.Ed.

2978 Taubman Medical Library, 1150 W. Medical Center Dr.

Ann Arbor, MI 48109-0619

Phone: 734-615-4846

Fax: 734-936-9715

email: zaquil@umich.edu


January 10, 2020

John's  first author paper is out today in Nature Communications! 

May 17, 2019

The Graduate Program in Immunology is pleased to announce the recipients of this year's Immunology awards.