Amanda Huber, PhD

Research Fellow, Neurology


Amanda received her B.S. cum laude in 2004 from Defiance College, Defiance Ohio. After this, she began her graduate work at the University of Cincinnati in 2005 in the lab of Dr. Yaron Tomer, where her work focused on the functional impact of a genetic variant in the etiology of autoimmune thyroid disease. In 2008 she was awarded the Ryan Fellowship; the highest honor the College of Medicine awards to a graduate student, recognizing outstanding research accomplishments and potential. In 2009, her lab relocated to Mount Sinai School of Medicine, New York, NY. While here, she continued her success, receiving an Outstanding Abstract Award from The Endocrine Society in 2011. Additionally, in 2011 she earned her Ph.D. degree in Immunology from Mount Sinai School of Medicine. Currently, Dr. Huber is a postdoctoral fellow in the Holtom-Garrett Program in Neuro-immunology at the University of Michigan under the mentorship of Drs. Benjamin Segal and David Irani. Her research is devoted to finding factors that contribute to differential therapy outcomes to IFN-β, a commonly prescribed therapy for the demyelinating autoimmune disease Multiple Sclerosis. Thus far in her career, Dr. Huber has amassed a total of 25 publications, 8 as first author, and her research is currently funded by grants from the National Multiple Sclerosis Society and a by a postdoctoral translational scholars fellowship from the Michigan Institute for Clinical and Health Research.

Research Interests

Project 1: Analyzes the role of the transcription factor interferon regulatory factor (IRF)-7, a major regulator of type I IFN signaling, in experimental autoimmune encephalomyelitis, the mouse model for multiple sclerosis (MS).
Project 2: Analyzes whether epigenetic regulation plays a role in IFN-beta responsiveness in relapsing-remitting MS. 


Multiplex bead-based assays, Flow cytometry and FACS sorting, Illumina-based sequencing (MiSeq), PCR, RT-PCR and QPCR, ELISpot and ELISA analyses, Tissue culture, small animal necropsy, DNA/RNA isolation and processing, ChIP, ATAC-seq


• Grant Recipient: MICHR Postdoctoral Translational Scholars Program supported by the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences of the National Institutes of Health: Award Number UL1TR000433; June 2015-May 2017
• Sidney and Joan Pestka Post Graduate Award for Excellence in Interferon Research, October 2014
• Grant Recipient: National Multiple Sclerosis Society Postdoctoral Fellowship Grant # FG 2064-A-1, July 2014-June 2017
• Grant Recipient: Department of Neurology Training Grant (July 2012- June2013) NIH Grant #T32 NS007222-31S1, PI: Eva L. Feldman, MD, PhD.
• The Endocrine Society Outstanding Abstract Award Travel Award Endocrine Society Meeting 2011
• The Ryan Fellowship September 2008-June 2009
The Ryan Fellowship is the highest honor the College of Medicine awards to a graduate student. It recognizes outstanding research accomplishments and potential, and provides an increase in the stipend of the recipient, and also offsets some of the stipend support that is be provided by the PI. Ryan Fellowships are awarded to graduate students from three institutions: UC, Dartmouth and Harvard.
• Grant Recipient: Endocrinology Training Grant (June 2009-March 2011) NIH Grant # 5T32DK007645-20
• The Endocrine Society Training Day Class of 2009


Immunology Mentor